It’s not all eating and drinking

2014-03-13 22.16.25

Today I am going to let you in on a secret, the wine industry is not all drinking and eating and having a great time.  Okay, there is whole heap of that and it is the part of my job I love the most, but here are 5 things you may not have known about my job as CEO of Tulloch Wines.

  1. My daughter (4 years old) talks about wine inappropriately, in inappropriate situations, all the time.  “Can you wine taste on a train”, “Do you like my Mummy’s wine”, “This is my mummy, her name is Christina Tulloch Wine”, “Don’t touch that, that’s Mummy’s milk” (it’s Chardonnay) and so on and so on.
  2.  I’m a “drug dealer”.  That’s right, alcohol is now classified as a drug and I am constantly being made to feel like a common drug pusher.
  3.   It really hurts when some one tells you they don’t like your wine.  I don’t know what ever happened to, ‘if you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all’ and the fact that we have a cellar door tasting area does leave us open for criticism. But, how would you like it if I looked you up and down and said, “Eww, your horrible,you look like [insert some horrible descriptor here].”
  4. Just because we are in the wine industry doesn’t mean we are rolling in it.  I get asked for wine donations all the time by an array of really worthy and amazing charities who want me to supply wine free of charge for their fundraising event.  The thing is, the wine is the only thing they think should be donated.  “Is the venue being donated free of charge, is the food free of charge, is the guest speaker or MC free of charge?” Invariably the answer to all these questions is no, so why do they think I should donate my wine free of charge?  We do a huge amount of charity work and donate over a pallet of wine each year, but wine has a value and the sooner organisers of charities realise this the better.  And while I am on this point, don’t request a donation from my company if your organisation has publicly spoken out against alcohol and its ill effects on an unsuspecting society, that’s hypocritical.
  5. I did not marry into the Tulloch family, I am in fact a Tulloch.  Why does everyone assume I married a Tulloch and that the fact that I am CEO has something to do with being given the job instead of having earned it after 10 years in the company.

Of course I could only come up with five bad things and I could come up with a list into the thousands of positive things, but who reads good news stories anyway?

Leave a Reply

